Upcoming Events & Website Resources

To view all upcoming events please click on the following link:  https://www.healthyadamscounty.org/events/

For questions or more information regarding these events please call 717-337-4137 or email jgastley2@wellspan.org.

Health Benefits of Outdoor Recreation

This video by the Pennsylvania Parks and Forests Foundation encapsulates so many of the benefits of walking and biking outdoors!

Attention Parents and Children! The internet is full of free resources to keep you and your children motivated for physical activity!

Click on the following link children-go-for-physical-activity-resources-wm-final-1 to access the “Children Go for Physical Activity – Links for Parents and Children”, which will lead you into the world of health and physical activity, with fun, internet-based links for movement activities. Children and their parents will find  some basic searchable internet resources, as well as links to yoga, Zumba, and theme-based movement adventures. Want to foster alphabet sound recognition? Numbers? Colors and Music? Build a simple obstacle course? Find it here – some English, some Spanish – all can be followed by watching the motions! Search and move for a healthier heart!

Developed by the Physical Fitness Task Force and the Children’s Health and Nutrition Task Force of Healthy Adams County, PA.

Visit these websites for other activities  happening in the community

YWCA Gettysburg & Adams County:  https://www.ywcagettysburg.org/special-events/ & https://www.ywcagettysburg.org/brown-bag-lunch-series-2/

United Way of Adams County:  http://www.uwadams.org/Annual-Events

Adams County Arts Council *(scholarships for classes available)https://adamsarts.org/

Adams County Library:  https://www.adamslibrary.org/

Gettysburg Rec Park:  https://www.gara-recpark.info/

Healthy Adams Bicycle Pedestrian Inc.:  http://habpi.org/pages/organized.php

Destination Gettysburg:  https://www.destinationgettysburg.com/index.asp

Strawberry Hill Nature Preserve:  https://www.strawberryhill.org/

*Under the Horizon:  http://underthehorizon.net/

Gettysburg Community Theatre:  https://www.gettysburgcommunitytheatre.org/

Gettysburg College Sunderman Conservatory:  https://www.gettysburg.edu/academic-programs/sunderman-conservatory/events/

Adams County Penn State Extension:  https://extension.psu.edu/adams-county

Penn Cares:  https://www.penncares.org/

Pine Grove Furnace State Park:  https://www.dcnr.pa.gov/StateParks/FindAPark/PineGroveFurnaceStatePark/Pages/default.aspx#FindUs

East Berlin Community Center:  http://www.ebacc.org/